Baker's Dozen: Chuck Johnson, Eyehategod, Sun June, and a Song I Like From an Artist I Don't

Baker's Dozen: Chuck Johnson, Eyehategod, Sun June, and a Song I Like From an Artist I Don't
Caption

Baker’s Dozen is a weekly thing for paid subscribers where I share a playlist and some thoughts on the music I’ve been listening to. If you're reading this, obviously, it means you're a paid subscriber—so follow along closely for a sec. I'm still migrating the paid subscriptions over to Letterdrop, so if you find yourself double-charged (or, if you're charged the old rate again before you've been migrated to the new rate), reach out to me personally and I'll refund you via Venmo. My email is larry.fitzmaurice@gmail.com.

Booka600 and Boss Top, "Glaciers"

Another one from Lil Durk and Only the Family's recent Loyal Bros compilation, more on a melodic tip than the last one I shared. A well-placed flute sample is always appreciated.

The Aston Shuffle, "Clouds"

...And another tune from the Magic Tape 100 compilation I mentioned in last week's newsletter touching on (amongst many other things) Disclosure's Settle. Australian duo, of course. They're always making dance music like this, whether or not you're paying attention.

Black Country, New Road, "Sunglasses"

One of my favorite songs of the year so far, "Leave my daddy's job out of this" is an all-timer lyrically. I find this band very inspiring in that I feel like they're only going to continue to do really interesting things, a really great debut from them in general. Can't wait to see them live.

Eyehategod, "Every Thing, Every Day"

My wife asked me to put this on a playlist. "Wake up every day, go to work, go to school." Who can relate?

Cult of Luna, "I Remember"

I know some subscribers (Dan) typically balk at a run of the hard stuff on here, sorry (Dan). I like the journey this one goes on, burns brightly for the first 2/3 and then sinks into a real serious closing motif that has just the right amount of drama.

serpentwithfeet, "Old & Fine"

Generally, serpentwithfeet just doesn't do it for me. His established style is fine but, at best, something I can only take in extremely small doses; on his latest album, the material that engages with mainstream R&B sounds more or less fell flat with me as well. But this song is a flash of brilliance, emptily lush production and vocal lines intertwined like strands of DNA. I wish he did more stuff like this, but it's fine if he keeps doing other stuff too—it's just not for me.

Dark Time Sunshine, "Better Off"

PacNW backpacker shit. Good production and capable rapping across the entire album, very Aesop Rock-esque at times. Get the nagging feeling these guys are a little religious, choosing not to look it up because I don't want to deal with that right now.

Sun June, "Seasons"

The Sun June album is really interesting and promising, I think she has a real knack for closing out songs with a quiet left-turn that makes you say to yourself "Damn, this is good." This slow-burner is probably the best example of a song from the LP that delivers from front to back. Excited to see what she does next.

The Staves, "Nothing's Gonna Happen"

The Staves have been a thing for a minute now but I just hopped aboard with the new album Good Woman, which splits the difference between oaky late-2000s indie and the off-kilter textures that you typically hear on records where Ariel Rechtshaid is involved. This is probably their most straightforwardly beautiful song to me, reminiscent of The One Quiet Song that's on every Fleet Foxes album.

La Femme, "Le jardin"

I'm too dumb or something for whatever this band is doing, didn't like most of their latest album at all. But this one sounded good! Got a writeup in Broadway World which is kind of funny, I guess music blogging really is back.

Chuck Johnson, "The Laurel"

The Cinder Grove is probably one of the best ambient albums of the year so far, if you even want to call this music—which is beautiful and moving in its own glacial pace—ambient at all. Chuck did a good thread recently about how streaming services are royally fucking over musicians when it comes to producing original music for their TV shows and movies, read it here.

Octo Octa, "Goddess Calling"

Another heater from Octo Octa, who does this kind of shit with her eyes closed at this point. Dig the break that this one's anchored around.

Tele Novella, "A Lot to Want"

Wild stuff here, a vaguely Medieval-themed project featuring one of the guys from Voxtrot that just put out an album on Kill Rock Stars earlier this year. And it's good! Has a certain oddball yearning indie-pop flavor that you don't really get from too much music these days. Kind of reminds me of Cryptacize, 'memba them?

Subscribe to Last Donut of the Night

Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only issues.
Jamie Larson
Subscribe