A Note Regarding the Imminent Overturning of Roe V. Wade

A Note Regarding the Imminent Overturning of Roe V. Wade

Last night, the news leaked that Roe V. Wade is likely to be overturned by the Supreme Court soon. It's devastating news that will endanger the safety of people who need abortions across the country, and as with so many things that have happened over the past several years, it's clear that the only way forward is to act as a community to protect each other.

As long as I'm financially able to do so, all proceeds generated by paid subscriptions to this newsletter will be donated directly to the National  Network of Abortion Funds, which (I'm directly quoting the website here) "builds power with members to remove financial and logistical barriers to abortion access by centering people who have abortions and organizing at the intersections of racial, economic, and reproductive justice."

I will document how much is donated at the end of every week, whether it be through social media or regular updates in this newsletter (probably both). I will also inform everyone when I'm no longer able to donate 100% of the proceeds generated by this newsletter, so that any new paid subscribers acquired in the process have the option to unsubscribe if they'd prefer their money continue going straight to abortion rights in another form.

If there's anyone out there that thinks my donations should be going to other organizations, please reach out directly at larry.fitzmaurice@gmail.com as I'm looking to be as educated on this subject as possible. I won't be donating any money to Planned Parenthood or the Democratic party for reasons of wanting my donations to go towards supporting direct action, and I encourage anyone else who's planning to donate towards abortion rights to not donate to those organizations as well.

Upgrade to paid

Lastly, I want to send a brief message to the men who read me here and elsewhere. There's been plenty of opportunities in the last five years to say "I told you so" regarding the general direction of U.S. politics and the state of the world at large. We're all guilty of it, myself absolutely included. I would strongly encourage any men to resist indulging in this messaging regarding this issue, and to instead listen to the women in your lives and in the world around you, so you can better understand how to stand alongside them in this fight.

Thanks for reading as always, will be likely doing some sort of newsletter tomorrow.

Subscribe to Last Donut of the Night

Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only issues.
Jamie Larson
Subscribe