Baker's Dozen: Coriky, SahBabii, Omar Apollo, and a Whole Bunch of Electronic Music

Baker's Dozen: Coriky, SahBabii, Omar Apollo, and a Whole Bunch of Electronic Music
Caption

Baker’s Dozen is a recurring weekly feature in which I share a playlist of songs I’ve been enjoying lately, along with commentary on said songs and artists as well as whatever else I want to comment on. A little more electronic music on this than usual, realized there were a few faves from the year that I forgot to include in previous installments.

https://open.spotify.com/embed/playlist/5P2G7EhFgVPpXs9ZrpYNaw

Omar Apollo, “Kamikaze”

Real Frank Ocean worship going on here, but it’s fine, good even. I’m so a la carte with all the bedroom pop kids of the last few years, most of it really doesn’t stick with me at all. Omar Apollo’s latest was alright, not particularly memorable but texturally above the cut compared to some of his supposed peers. Still think we don’t talk enough about how much Mac DeMarco influenced all of these kids.

SahBabii, “Pregnant”

“They throwin' salt, we made a lot of pretzels.” “These ni**as sweet like a fifty cent brownie / With the M&M's in it.” Great lines on this one.

Desire Marea, “Thokozani”

The only song I was into on this record, and every time I return to it I feel like I’m hearing it in a different light even though it still sounds familiar. It’s the roguelike of 2020 electronic music.

Oval, “Cozzmo”

I remember going to Academy Records’ old Williamsburg spot a while back with my wife, and we bought Alice Deejay’s “Better Off Alone,” Lindstrøm’s Where You Go I Go Too (every time I tell someone I own this on vinyl they seem amazed it could be pressed to vinyl, but I’m pretty sure it’s a bunch of track edits and not the actual album), and Oval’s 94 Diskont. This track, obviously, sounds nothing like 94 Diskont, but I appreciate how surprising Oval’s music can still be.

Schacke, “The End of Ecstasy”

Shout out to Philip Sherburne and Ruth Saxelby for putting Kulør on my radar, great label. Love how ominous this track is.

Beatrice Dillon, “Clouds Strum”

First time I listened to this album, I was feeling extremely anxious while delivering groceries to someone through our local Mutual Aid group. Anyway, it’s good!!!

Cindy Lee, “Lucifer Stand”

Really beautiful and weird shit going on here from Patrick Flegel, formerly of Women. Reminds me of Dirty Beaches. (Keep an eye out for an interview with Alex from DB soon, btw.)

AceMoMa, “Hidden Memory”

Lovely, two NYC stars-in-the-making teaming up and dreaming up something gorgeous. Wish I could be wasted in a crowd with any number of people while this was being aired out somewhere.

Wajatta, “Don’t Let Get You Down”

I guess I shouldn’t be surprised by the fact that I enjoy a good deal of what John Tejada and Reggie Watts are up to. Tejada’s solo stuff on Kompakt has always been reliable, and I’ve always loved Watts on Comedy Bang Bang. But the latter’s musical ventures haven’t always landed for me, and Tejada lacks a certain distinctiveness in sound—so it’s nice that this track (and a good deal of their other work together) carries a woozy and pleasant punch, like day-drinking. Perfect co-stars, as the Regal movie theaters’ menus used to read.

TOKiMONSTA, “Renter’s Anthem”

I love TOKiMONSTA, always have. She’s making music that’s largely more trad-sounding now, but honestly who cares? It still sounds good. That’s what matters, right?

Julianna Barwick, “Nod” [ft. Nosaj Thing]

I can’t tell whether Julianna Barwick is underrated at this point or that there used to be more systems in place to elevate her presence. At any rate, here she is 11 years into her recording career, still making mind-blowing music. Bow down.

Coriky, “Clean Kill”

Speaking of musicians who are still amazing but I can’t tell how big their followings are at this point…

Disheveled Cuss, “Fawn”

Listen to this song on Bandcamp.

Get a load of these Teenage Fanclub-sounding motherfuckers. Seriously, the main guy here is in Tera Melos, and power-pop takes a certain preciseness to nail it down, so it’s not shocking at all how impressive of an era-specific replica this is. Also, y’know, just great tunes.

Subscribe to Last Donut of the Night

Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only issues.
Jamie Larson
Subscribe